Posted by: mseewv | April 7, 2009

Forclosure – short sale – aw hail!

So when I last left you all, Katie and I had just decided that we were going to drop the whole dream trip to London and buy a house. It’s funny when I start new projects. It doesn’t matter how hard anyone else thinks or says it may be I always think that it is going to be a breeze! I knew the market was down in the area and that there were tons of good deals around. Plus the new $8,000 tax credit was a big plus too. I never thought of the loan, or how hard it would be to find the right house or all of the other junk that you have to go through like buyers agents and builders and blah blah blah. I probably should note that every place that I have ever rented from the time I moved out of my parents house to the tiny pocket house that Katie and I are living in now I found the first day I set out looking for a new place. Oh, nd when I say pocket I mean pocket! It’s me her and the dog crammed into 600 sq feet of living space. But hey we liked it. So as you can see the first day we set out I was sure that we were going to find our dream house! Well we thought we did…about 5 times! First we thought we were going to build. We found what we thought was the deal of a lifetime and then quickly learned that there is no deal that good. Then I spent most of my time calling realtors and setting up appointments. Well that didn’t work out so well either. If you have bought a house I am sure you can imagine the craziness I am talking about. When you start out it is just you and your significant other. When you really get into it, it then feels like the whole friggin community is helping you get your house. So after looking at tons of foreclosures and hearing story after story and countless “yes, dear” type moments with the Hokie wife we finally found “the one.” Well I guess you can say it will be when it is finished. So here is the ride I am willing to take you on. My extreme home makeover. Yes, Katie and I will be building our first house and I want to take you through the whole thing with us. As you can imagine with us this will be an adventure. Last night when we signed the contract with the builder we had to pick out our siding and shutter colors. The whole time I was saying no green no green. Then after a “yes, dear” moment I noticed the siding was green. So what do I do? Open my big mouth and say hey I thought we said no green…to her reply…it’s tan remember you’re color blind! Just wait until we pick out room colors and countertops…. Any advice will be welcomed. Next week we had to the design center


Leave a Reply

Categories

