Posted by: mseewv | June 27, 2009

The King Of Pop – I want my MTV!

The sudden death of Michael Jackson is a weird one for most.

Sometimes it is hard for people to look past certain things. And I am not saying that I didn’t think he was a little weird. I mean he was a lot weird. The Elephant Man’s bones, a monkey and his countless allegations definitely helped create a bad persona for a man that was so adored in the 70s, 80s & 90s.

But at what point do you look past those sort of things and remember the artist? Many of you know that I am a huge Dave Matthews Band fan. If Dave says I think everyone in the world should eat Liver for breakfast I am not going to eat Liver. I don’t really care about his personal life nor do I care about this personal views I just care about the music. I can honestly see why so many people are upset today.

It is the death of a musical legend. Many of you remember the death of Elivs. This is my generations Elvis. Elvis also had his share of skeletons in the closet.

I think the main reason this strikes a chord in me is the fact that it is a piece of my childhood that is now gone. I can remember listening to Michael Jackson growing up. Trying to dance like him and screaming and spinning around the house as a little kid.

The reason my Mom and Dad eventually blocked MTV from our satellite dish as a kid was not because of Snoop Dogg or Dr. Dre it was because of one night me spinning and dancing around the house singning and dancing that caused my Mom and Dad to finally block MTV.

So as this piece of your childhood goes away and falls into memory. Its ok to be a little sad. Even if he was weird.

Leave a Reply

Categories

