Posted by: mseewv | December 1, 2009

The Great Baster Caper!

Well we are finally in the house!

It took almost 8 months (could’ve made a friggin kid in that time) but we are almost settled in to what we can finally call, “our home!”

That today is neither here nor there. Today I am here to talk about the Great Baster Caper that occurred on none other than what I am referring to as…………….T-DAY!

In my efforts to escape the house before the Hokie wife kicked my butt for hovering over Thanksgiving Day dinner too much as she buzzed around her new kitchen, I headed to Wal-Mart to bug my friend who works there.

After picking up a few non-emergency type items for Katie for dinner I headed back to the house. On the way home she called me saying that in our efforts to reduce all of the junk we were moving from our old place to our first home we threw away our old Turkey Baster and she had just put the turkey in the over….bum bum bum bum!

Now I know that you do not have to have a baster to make the perfect Thanksgiving Day turkey but this was our very first Thanksgiving meal in a house that we own and if we could have invited the Pilgrims and Indians over that night we would have. So, as you guessed it, I was off on a great escapade searching high and low for a turkey baster on Thanksgiving Day!

There was a point after the second store that I felt like an Eskimo looking for swim trunks at the North Pole!

After almost two hours of looking high and low, I was almost ready to give up. I had went to two Wal-Marts, two Food Lion’s, Target and a Partridge and a Pear Tree! Just when I thought I was going to lose all hope I ran into Martin’s and much to my dismay…not eight tiny little reindeer…but another empty rack where the baster’s had once lay.

As I shuffled to the door with my head hanging down I bumped into a very nice older lady who asked if she could help me and after she laughed at me for looking for a baster on Thanksgiving she pointed out there second super secret hiding position near the frozen food aisle.

I raced home like a hero and burst in the door to the sounds of “ya dummy, I didn’t really need one I could have just used a spoon!”

She then thanked me and we enjoyed our turkey and maize on our very first Thanksgiving in our new home!

ps: As a very very large side note my wife made the absolute best Thanksgiving Dinner I have ever tasted! I mean best ever…I really should have thought about getting her, her very own kitchen a long long time ago!!! Thanks, hun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

