Posted by: mseewv | March 25, 2010

No Broken Toe Is Going To Hurt My Dancing Shoes!

OH HOW SWEET IT IS! Welcome to Sweet 16 basketball everyone! What a win it was against the Mizzou Tigers. And how about our boy Da’Sean coming through for us again and showing that when we want to WVU can shoot the ball. Now we are on to Syracuse NY for more awesome basketball. It all kicks off tomorrow night when we face Washington. I will break them down a bit later. First and foremost let’s go over the little hiccup that we experienced last night.

So last evening Mountaineer Nation received word that Sophomore Guard, Truck Bryant had broken his toe in practice. Later today we learned that this injury will keep him sidelined. Ladies and Gents, I am not letting this little hitch stop me from dancing in my golden slippers. Truck has been decent at times for us this year and has helped add depth to the point position but I feel that it is time for Joe Mazzula and Casey Mitchell to show us why they have been so heavily praised. We know what old Joe can do but I am really ready to show what Jr. College transfer Mitchell can do for us.

As for Truck, thanks for a great season and we hope that you heal from your flat tire soon and are ready to come back next year for another awesome run and to defend that Big East Tourney Championship!

Now, on to the matter at hand. Tomorrow night, Tipoff 7:27 pm est in Syracuse, NY versus the Washington Huskies. A team that was put down by all of the cynics on ESPN etc., saying that they were coming out of a very weak PAC10. But they sure didn’t look weak in their first few games. Washington loves to run and they love to score in transition. But, we love to play defense and rebound like crazy.

Yesterday on my way home from work, I was listening to Scott Van Pelt on ESPN radio. He was interviewing Huggs and asked him what advantage we have leading into the stretch and Huggs said, “We don’t shoot very well!” I don’t think SVP knew what to say, he just chuckled. Huggs then noted that we rely on our defense and our rebounding and if we end up shooting well like Da’Sean did on Sunday then that is just a bonus.

That is what I look for to happen tomorrow night. Look for us to play tight defense to stop the transition game and look for us to hammer the boards once again. I don’t think it will be a blowout but I have confidence that our boys will walk in ready to play and with nothing but bringing home that Championship to good ol’ WV.

So tomorrow is officially our ‘White Out.’ Wear all of your white WVU gear to work tomorrow and show off your Mountaineer Pride. And Then tomorrow at 7:27 pm, put the children to bed and get ready for some awesome basketball!

On a side note my tickets for the Final Four and the National Championship came in today. I almost fell over as I pulled them out of the envelope! What an experience that was. I plan on posting pictures later but I have been really stuck on this superstitious thing lately and I don’t want to do anything to rock the boat! I’ll see you all tomorrow night!

LET’S GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

