Posted by: mseewv | April 1, 2010

Twas The Night Before Indy

So wild.

I have spent at least the last hour trying to pen a crafty little rendition of my own little adaptation of ‘Twas the Night Before Christmas.

I am so hyper and scattered with my heart and my mind in Indy, that I can’t even bring myself to finish it.  

So many people have waited so long for this moment. A moment when our state, our school would be in the spotlight. Many thought that it would never come. Well, thankfully, we all will live to see it.

When moments like this arise we tend to think of those who we wish were here to be a part of it. Right off the top of my head are two of WVU’s biggest fans that I wish were here with me to take in all of the excitement.

First would be my grandmother. My love for my school started way before I could even read. I can remember my grandmother putting my on her knee and telling me how awesome the Mountaineer was and how nothing compared to gameday at Mountaineer Field. Grandma also taught me something else. There are three things you hate in life – Pitt, Notre Dame and Lou Holtz. Now that, I still follow to this day!

From the time I was old enough to reach the phone and learn her phone number, I would call her every time something big happened in WVU sports. I can remember calling during bowl games, comeback victories etc. My love for WVU sports continues and always will be fueled by the love that she shared for me. I will forever think of her on gameday.

The other person who will come to mind this weekend will be a very close friend of my fathers that passed away while I was in college. In life, Scott Allen loved nothing more than WVU and the rock band Kiss. We would spend countless hours at the newspaper office discussing how WVU could do better in basketball and football and breaking down games etc. We also spent plenty of time talking about Kiss and all of their reunion tours that Scott would always have tickets for.

Scott was a diehard WVU fan. Scott would have loved this run to the Final Four.

See, this is more than just a basketball game for a lot of people.

WVU means so much to the state of WV. It is just a game but to a lot of people is so much more.

So on Saturday get ready to stand tall, whether in Indy, Martinsburg, Romney or little ‘ol Logan W.Va. to scream your lungs out!

For the fans that have cheered before us and the fans that will cheer on the Old Gold & Blue after us. Our time is now. It is time to shock the nation and bring home the hardware.

TWO DAYS – TWO GAMES – HISTORY – LET’S GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My next update will be from Indy!

‘Twas The Night Before Indy (Partial)

Twas the night before Indy, when all through the house
Not a creature was stirring, not even my spouse.
The tickets were placed by our bags with care,
In hopes that in Indy we would soon be there.

See my wife was nestled all snug in our bed,
While visions of a National Championship danced in my head.
And full of Benadryl to calm my nerves
Will we win this trophy that we so deserve?

When out on the lawn there arose such a clatter,
I sprang from a Benadryl induced haze to see what was the matter.
Away to the front door I stumbled in a stupor,
Tripped over the mat, oh this is super!

The moon on the breast of my flying WV flag
Oh I hope we won’t grace the cover of the Sports Illustrated mag.
When, what to my wondering eyes should appear,
But Bob Huggins and the team peeking through the clear.

Leave a Reply

Categories

