Posted by: mseewv | April 3, 2010

Mountaineer Mishap, One Shining Moment & Dickie V

What a day it has been in Indy!

After a few doses of Nyquil, Katie was finally able to strap me to the bed last night. I still don’t think I closed my eyes for longer than 30 minutes. I couldn’t wait to hit the road and experience everything that the Final Four and Indianapolis had to offer!

We hit the road at about 5 am this morning with our WVU flags flying high, dressed in full Mountaineer gear ready for the experience of a lifetime. After a few stops, we finally arrived in Indiana and headed downtown to the Indiana Convention Center and Lucas Oil Stadium.

Only one word can describe the scene in downtown – Pandemonium. What an experience. Vendors as far as the eye can see with nothing but West Virginia, Duke, Michigan State and about a billion Butler fans.

Our first stop was Lucas Oil Stadium. I have been to a lot of sports arenas in my short 29 years on this earth and let me tell you, this is one of the most impressive facilities I have ever stepped into in my life. Katie has posted some pictures below, even though, I know they won’t even come close to doing it justice.

After picking my mouth off of the ground, we headed in to catch the very end of Duke’s practice and to see Jim Nantz interview Coach K.

Next stop – the Indianapolis Convention Center and the NCAA’s Bracket town event. What an experience this was. As you walk into the convention center it is like you are stepping out on the court during the team’s introduction. Flashing lights, smoke, laser lights along with loud music. It definitely was a great precursor to what the inside would hold. This is by far one of the wildest convention events I have ever seen. There must have been 15 basketball courts in this place. It is so hard to explain everything that is going on inside of this convention center. Totally interactive experiences with 3 point shooting contests, NCAA coach meet and greets, a 3-D TV experience and much more. The first thing on our agenda was to head to the Spalding Arena portion of the convention center for the ‘Battle of the Bands.’

During the ‘Battle of the Bands’ each team’s pep band, cheerleaders and mascot would battle the other teams for an overall winner. This was a tad bit biased since we are in Butler’s backyard and the convention center was packed full of crazed bulldogs. But that is not the bone that I have to pick at this time. The bone I have to pick is with the Mountaineer faithful that either did not show up for this event, or kept quiet when the Mounties took the court. I know this is nowhere as near important as the game tomorrow. But hey, everything counts right? As the 10′ tall guy on stilts announced the Mountaineers, there was nothing but pure silence. I was a bit amazed. Katie and I clapped but no cheers, nothing! As my blood began to boil, I did the one thing that I was born and bred to do….the video below explains the rest! Don’t worry, you will be proud.

So the last and final stop before heading back to the hotel after a long day was the State Farm section of Bracket Town. Dick Vitale was in the house signing autographs and even though I didn’t want to wait in line for over an hour to meet this Duke lover, I still took my time to sneak up close and grab a few shots and a quick video for everyone. Hopefully tomorrow night Dickie V will be crying over a Duke loss.

So tomorrow we will head back downtown early in the a.m. for the Darius Rucker and Daughtry concert and then the Mountaineer meet up at Scotty’s Brewhouse. After that we are off to Lucas Oil Stadium to bring on the Mountaineers!

Wear every single piece of blue and gold you have tomorrow. Blue and gold shirts, pants, socks, shoes – paint your dog if you have to! Our time is now. It is time to Shock The Nation and Make Mountaineer History!!!

Get Ready! Let the boys know from the deepest valley to the tallest mountain in West ‘By God’ Virginia that the Mountaineers mean business and no one, I mean no one is going to take this opportunity away from us!

Check out photos from earlier today, below.

LET’S GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

