Posted by: mseewv | April 5, 2010

Mama Tried

And I turned twenty-nine in prison doing life without parole.
No-one could steer me right but Mama tried, Mama tried.
Mama tried to raise me better, but her pleading, I denied.
That leaves only me to blame ‘cos Mama tried.

As many of you know my 29th birthday is this Thursday. What? You didn’t get me a gift yet? No worries there are still 3 shopping days until then!

However there is a slight change of address. Please address all of my birthday gifts to the Marion County Jail at 150 North Alabama Street, Indianapolis, IN.

Now before your head starts running wild give me a second to explain.

After waking up still sulking from the game and with hate for Duke on the mind I decided to head downtown and try to sell our National Championship tickets. I thought that it would be a piece of cake. I mean it is for a National Championship in which the hosting city’s team was in the final game. I truly thought tickets would be hard to come by. Well I was wrong. All of the Michigan State and West Virginia fans unloaded their tickets as they left the stadium on Saturday night. This looked like a scene out of a movie where they show downtown markets in third world countries. A line of ticket scalpers waiting, drooling, as fans crushed by the loss of their team left the stadium to sell their dreams of seeing their team in the National Championship game for just a measly $15.

Ok back to me and why I need my birthday cake delivered with a metal file inside. Katie and I along with Cyndy (our WVU friend who lives in enemy Hokie territory) headed downtown so I could try to sell our tickets. I dropped as we walked out of the parking garage, I did the cool, dorky thing  that people getting rid of tickets always does, holding them out to my side like ‘look I have tickets to sell you.’  We had walked no further than 20 feet from the parking garage when I got my first nibble. I thought, ‘this is going to be so easy!’ The first guy that approached me was dressed head to toe in Butler basketball gear. Running shoes, jeans, Butler t-shirt and a Butler hat. The guy led me around the corner away from the girls and began to ask me about the tickets. After going over how much I was looking to sell my tickets for he proceeded to lift up his shirt and show me his police badge.  I almost passed out right there. I just knew I was going to jail. I was out there selling my dream of a WVU National Championship like a woman of the night and here the first person I talk to was a friggin police officer.

Luckily the second sentence out of his mouth, that is after he introduced himself as a fine policeman from the city of Indianapolis, was that I was not in trouble and he was just checking to make sure that my tickets were legit and not fake. He then told me that there had been a rash of counterfeit tickets and that he even had to deny entrance to a father and his three sons to the semi-final games after they spent $3,000 on fake tickets.

So you can actually address my birthday gift to my home in Martinsburg. But this quick little run in with the law did provide for a good prank to pull on my father. I think at one point in our conversation he actually thought that he was going to have to fly to Indy to bail me out of jail. Although he was relieved when I told him I was joking and not truly in jail he was a cranky with the prank.

So we are staying in Indy and more than likely going to the game to cheer on Butler to whip up on Duke!

I’ll keep everyone posted on what else happens in Indy!

Responses

  1. CHEER LOUD for Butler, that they whip up on Duke-they won’t know what hit them. After all look what they did to Da’Sean.
    Try to stay out of trouble with police officers for the rest of your trip. LOL
    WAY TO GO MOUNTAINEERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

