Posted by: mseewv | April 8, 2010

Matt See – 29 Years Young – The Rest Of The Story

Wow – 29 years young today. Who ever would have thought that I would have made it this long?

It was only 4 years ago that my dad looked me right in the eye and said…”Son, I honestly didn’t think you would make it to 25.” And I seriously don’t think he was kidding.

So what else is there to do at a time like this? Well, I guess since I am so close to hitting that magical 30 mark, now would be as good of as time than any to reflect a little. Maybe give my life over the first 28 years and 364 days a little retribution.This is Matt See – 29 Years Young – The Rest of The Story.

Hmmm where to start?

Ok,  it was a hot steamy night in…wait I was born in April…which makes it, yeah August, so I am assuming the opening credits would roll and then after a hot steamy night in August of 1980 the movie of my life would begin just like the opening credits in the movie – Look Who’s Talking. Sorry for that graphic entrance, I just figured that I needed to create some sort of visual straight off the top.

Now I know that you don’t want me to bother you with all of the boring things like being the perfect baby who never messed in his little baby diaper. Or a cute little baby that caused his mother or father to awake in the middle of the night to nothing but sweet blood curdling screams. I truly was the perfect baby. What you don’t believe me? Seriously, I know. I was there remember. Just picture the cute little baby in the amazing movie – Three Men & A Little Baby. Minus Ted Danson and the fact that I only had one father, that I know of. Mom?

And off we move to the years that my parents finally knew that they had something special. Quite possibly the best child ever created. Who ever would have thought?

My early years were filled with nothing but perfect moments where I was nothing but my mother’s favorite always says “yes mommy,” or “what ever you say mommy.” If you ever hear lies of me climbing onto my mother’s push button gas stove, igniting all of the burners and sitting in the middle and giggling wildly – well, then you will just know that the story just cannot be true. I was not the child that caused my parents to duck tape the entire fridge door to make sure that I wouldn’t break in and pull everything off of the shelves onto the floor. And if anyone ever tells you that my dad had to create a special ‘harness’ for my high chair to keep me strapped in, well that would just be an all out lie. I was more like a young Opie Taylor. Always minding my manners. Minus the whole red hair thing and well my life wasn’t in black and white, but color.

As I moved into my tween and teen years, I truly began to blossom. What an outgoing young whippersnapper I was! Still perfect mannered and never getting into trouble. Did I mention that it was at this time that I started to take on my stunning looks? Oh yeah, I definitely didn’t want to miss that. During the time of my cuteness, I started to hit the wedding circuit pretty hard. I was that cute kid that every parent wish they had and every loving couple wanted in their wedding. You have to see the pictures! I was like a young James Bond. Don’t even begin to believe the hoopla that I never made it through any of those weddings and usually spent the last hour or so skipping rocks with my father in the parking lot. That would be just a bold-faced lie. I was that cute kid up front remember. You might even hear a whisper that I was pretty much gagged and pulled out of one of my Uncle’s wedding’s for yelling at my brother as he headed up the aisle – they ‘claim’ I was yelling “CWWWWWWAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIGGGGGGGG!!!!!” All I have to say to that is where is the tape? Where is the evidence? I do not remember it, so as of now I would just say that it is inadmissible. I was more like a young Jim Bob Walton – except I only had one first name.

College for me was a lot different from most. I was always studying, never out late and always in the first row of every classroom. Nothing but straight A’s. I always put my studies first. Just to debunk some of the rumors; never did I hit golf balls from the top of Beechurst Ave. in downtown Morgantown trying to cross the Mon. River. Never did I wake up in my best friend’s front yard, realize that I was late for a final and walk straight to class, ace the final and then go to bed. What straight A, perfect student would do such a thing? I was more like the little scientist that you always wanted. Kind of like one Mr. Skolnick from the Nerds movie – minus the pocket protector. I was smart; I knew a pen would bleed if I stuck it in my pocket.

Fast forward 5 years and I am still rockin’ it. Don’t let anyone tell you different. Before heading into my last year before I hit the big 3-0, I just wanted to set those things straight.

And now you know…the rest of the story!

Leave a Reply

Categories

